University of California Berkeley Foundation
Berkeley, CA · EIN 94-6090626 · Education · Rank 1,109 by total revenue
To advance the interest & promote the welfare of the university of california, berkeley & to increase the facilities of the univ. & to provide broader educational opportunities.
Money, Form 990 for tax year 2024
- Total revenue
- $606,100,425
- Total expenses
- $431,159,298
- Total assets
- $3,991,922,296
- Salary base (all salaries and wages)
- not reported
- Salaries, other pay and benefits
- $0
- Employees
- not reported
"Salary base" is Form 990 Part IX lines 5 to 7. "Employees" is everyone who got a W-2 that year, full or part time. Form 990-EZ and 990-PF report pay differently; see About the data.
Leadership (76)
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | Total pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Richard K Lyons | CHANCELLOR | Board, Officer | 4 | $748,779 |
| Julie M Hooper | PRESIDENT (THRU 01/2025) | Officer | 10 | $654,164 |
| Lishelle Blakemore | VICE PRESIDENT | Officer | 4 | $441,289 |
| Nancy Lubich McKinney | ASSOCIATE VICE PRESIDENT & TREASURER | Officer | 10 | $440,915 |
| Carl A Wayne | ASSOCIATE VICE PRESIDENT | Officer | 10 | $361,579 |
| Leslie Schibsted | INTERIM PRESIDENT (AS OF 02/2025) | Officer | 10 | $283,279 |
| Mihi Ahn | EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT | Officer | 30 | $240,244 |
| Rachelle Reagan | ASSOCIATE VICE PRESIDENT | Officer | 10 | $233,060 |
| Jane Sperling Wise | CORPORATE SECRETARY | Officer | 20 | $177,620 |
| Glen Chang | CONTROLLER | Officer | 10 | $100,386 |
| Bettina Duval | CHAIR, FOUNDATION | Board, Officer | 4 | None reported |
| Dana Bisconti | VICE CHAIR, PROGRAMS COMMITTEE | Board, Officer | 0.8 | None reported |
| Eric Stern | VICE CHAIR FOUNDATION | Board, Officer | 4 | None reported |
| Gail Maderis | CHAIR, GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE | Board, Officer | 2 | None reported |
| Kai Huang | CHAIR, PROGRAMS COMMITTEE | Board, Officer | 1 | None reported |
| Lisa Guerra | VICE CHAIR, GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE | Board, Officer | 2 | None reported |
| Roger Kang | CHAIR, NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE | Board, Officer | 1 | None reported |
| Shashikala Deb | VICE CHAIR, NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE | Board, Officer | 2 | None reported |
| Steve Ellis | VICE CHAIR, FINANCE & ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE | Board, Officer | 1 | None reported |
| Weijie Yun | CHAIR, FINANCE & ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE | Board, Officer | 1 | None reported |
| Alan Templeton | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Allen Soong | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Amy Bassell Crowe | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Anita Yu Westly | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Ann Baxter Perrin | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Anne Bakar | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Anne Gates | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Bryan Cameron | TRUSTEE | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Camilla Smith | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Carol Liu | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Carolyn Schwab-Pomerantz | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Cathy Unger | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Charles Huang | IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Clyde Rodriguez | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Collette Chilton | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Cyrus Hadidi | BEMCO BOARD MEMBER | Board | 1 | None reported |
| David Gee | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Deborah Loker Hicks | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Desi Banatao | TRUSTEE | Board | 2 | None reported |
| Diana Walsh | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Herbert Hooper | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Isabel Rhee | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Jack McCauley | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Janelle Grimes | TRUSTEE (THRU 02/2025) | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Jennifer Keller | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Jim Koshland | TRUSTEE | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Joanne Corday Kozberg | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| John Stock | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Julie Morgan | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Kahshin Leow | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Karen Dabby | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Kevin Chou | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Kevin Kennedy | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Kofi Bonner | TRUSTEE | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Laura Perloff | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Laura Wen-Yu Young | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Laurene Wu McClain | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Lisa Jones | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Mark Edelstone | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Mary Ellen Kanoff | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Mitsuru Igarashi | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Rene Kern | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Ricardo Mora | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Sandra Rodrigues Ben-Efraim | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Sharon Bonner-Brown | TRUSTEE | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Shawn Tsao | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Shuhong Ye | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Ssteven Pan | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Stephanie Rivera | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Stephen Isaacs | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Stuart Shiff | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Susan Chamberlin | TRUSTEE | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Susan Stutzman | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Terry Rosen | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Ting Chuk | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
| Vincent Cheung | TRUSTEE | Board | 0.8 | None reported |
Top 10 paid people listed
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | From this org | From related orgs | Other pay | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Richard K Lyons | CHANCELLOR | Board, Officer | 4 | $0 | $620,677 | $128,102 | $748,779 |
| Julie M Hooper | PRESIDENT (THRU 01/2025) | Officer | 10 | $0 | $570,970 | $83,194 | $654,164 |
| Lishelle Blakemore | VICE PRESIDENT | Officer | 4 | $0 | $375,150 | $66,139 | $441,289 |
| Nancy Lubich McKinney | ASSOCIATE VICE PRESIDENT & TREASURER | Officer | 10 | $0 | $371,264 | $69,651 | $440,915 |
| Carl A Wayne | ASSOCIATE VICE PRESIDENT | Officer | 10 | $0 | $317,373 | $44,206 | $361,579 |
| Leslie Schibsted | INTERIM PRESIDENT (AS OF 02/2025) | Officer | 10 | $0 | $235,397 | $47,882 | $283,279 |
| Mihi Ahn | EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT | Officer | 30 | $0 | $202,219 | $38,025 | $240,244 |
| Rachelle Reagan | ASSOCIATE VICE PRESIDENT | Officer | 10 | $0 | $182,695 | $50,365 | $233,060 |
| Jane Sperling Wise | CORPORATE SECRETARY | Officer | 20 | $0 | $137,445 | $40,175 | $177,620 |
| Glen Chang | CONTROLLER | Officer | 10 | $0 | $89,095 | $11,291 | $100,386 |
Sources
- IRS e-file return 202611359349313246 (Form 990, period ending 2025-06-30): readable copy at ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
- IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search for EIN 94-6090626
- Organization website (as filed): http://foundation.berkeley.edu