The Kavli Foundation
Los Angeles, CA · EIN 77-0560142 · Philanthropy and grantmaking · Rank 14,391 by total revenue
Money, Form 990-PF for tax year 2024
- Total revenue
- $31,441,928
- Total expenses
- $41,925,144
- Total assets
- $604,090,789
- Salary base (all salaries and wages)
- not reported
- Salaries, other pay and benefits
- $1,121,099
- Employees
- not reported
"Salary base" is Form 990 Part IX lines 5 to 7. "Employees" is everyone who got a W-2 that year, full or part time. Form 990-EZ and 990-PF report pay differently; see About the data.
Leadership (11)
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | Total pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cynthia Friend | PRESIDENT | Officer | 40 | $824,011 |
| Alice Galstian | CFO/VP OF FINANCE | Officer | 40 | $355,256 |
| Mark Chancellor | CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER | Officer | 40 | $219,559 |
| Rockell N Hankin | CHAIRMAN | Board, Officer | 3 | $140,855 |
| Douglas K Freeman | SECRETARY | Officer | 3 | $47,395 |
| Gunnar Nilsen | DIRECTOR | Board | 3 | $106,500 |
| Richard Meserve | DIRECTOR | Board | 3 | $42,274 |
| Emily Ann Carter | DIRECTOR | Board | 3 | $40,700 |
| Mary Sue Coleman | DIRECTOR | Board | 3 | $35,000 |
| Shirley Malcolm | DIRECTOR | Board | 3 | $35,000 |
| Henry Yang | DIRECTOR | Board | 3 | None reported |
Top 10 paid people listed
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | From this org | From related orgs | Other pay | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cynthia Friend | PRESIDENT | Officer | 40 | $792,250 | $0 | $31,761 | $824,011 |
| Alice Galstian | CFO/VP OF FINANCE | Officer | 40 | $338,224 | $0 | $17,032 | $355,256 |
| Pauline Poompan | CONTROLLER | 40 | $207,920 | $0 | $41,698 | $249,618 | |
| Mark Chancellor | CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER | Officer | 40 | $218,336 | $0 | $1,223 | $219,559 |
| Rockell N Hankin | CHAIRMAN | Board, Officer | 3 | $140,855 | $0 | $0 | $140,855 |
| Gunnar Nilsen | DIRECTOR | Board | 3 | $106,500 | $0 | $0 | $106,500 |
| Douglas K Freeman | SECRETARY | Officer | 3 | $47,395 | $0 | $0 | $47,395 |
| Richard Meserve | DIRECTOR | Board | 3 | $42,274 | $0 | $0 | $42,274 |
| Emily Ann Carter | DIRECTOR | Board | 3 | $40,700 | $0 | $0 | $40,700 |
| Mary Sue Coleman | DIRECTOR | Board | 3 | $35,000 | $0 | $0 | $35,000 |
Sources
- IRS e-file return 202503079349101115 (Form 990-PF, period ending 2024-12-31): readable copy at ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
- IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search for EIN 77-0560142
- Organization website (as filed): kavlifoundation.org