Gates Foundation
Seattle, WA · EIN 56-2618866 · Philanthropy and grantmaking · Rank 40 by total revenue
Money, Form 990-PF for tax year 2024
- Total revenue
- $8,084,056,958
- Total expenses
- $7,696,309,308
- Total assets
- $78,673,465,696
- Salary base (all salaries and wages)
- not reported
- Salaries, other pay and benefits
- $174,807,527
- Employees
- not reported
"Salary base" is Form 990 Part IX lines 5 to 7. "Employees" is everyone who got a W-2 that year, full or part time. Form 990-EZ and 990-PF report pay differently; see About the data.
Leadership (25)
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | Total pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trevor Mundel | PRESIDENT, GLOBAL HEALTH | Officer | 40 | $1,466,448 |
| Christopher Elias | PRESIDENT, GLOBAL DEVELOPMENT | Officer | 40 | $1,227,182 |
| Rodger Voorhies | PRESIDENT, GLOBAL GROWTH & OPPORTUNITY | Officer | 40 | $1,142,937 |
| Carolyn Ainslie | CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | Officer | 40 | $1,109,332 |
| Allan C Golston | PRESIDENT, US PROGRAM | Officer | 40 | $1,099,523 |
| Gargee Ghosh | PRESIDENT, GLOBAL POLICY & ADVOCACY | Officer | 40 | $1,066,321 |
| Anita Zaidi | PRESIDENT, GENDER EQUALITY | Officer | 40 | $1,059,085 |
| Ankur Vora | CHIEF STRATEGY OFFICER | Officer | 40 | $857,245 |
| Lauren W Bright | CHIEF LEGAL OFFICER & SECRETARY | Officer | 40 | $781,618 |
| Susan Byrnes | CHIEF COMMUNICATIONS OFFICER | Officer | 40 | $747,819 |
| Shana Tarbell | CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER | Officer | 40 | $711,573 |
| Sonia Vora | CHIEF HUMAN RESOURCES OFFICER | Officer | 40 | $690,911 |
| Joe Cornelius | LLC OFFICER | Officer | 40 | $682,577 |
| Keith Matthews | LLC OFFICER | Officer | 40 | $611,591 |
| June Yoshinari Start 5162024 | CHIEF PEOPLE OFFICER | Officer | 40 | $589,377 |
| Leslie Mays End 5162024 | CHIEF DIVERSITY,EQUITY,& INCL. OFFICER | Officer | 40 | $324,831 |
| Mark Suzman | CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER, BOARD MEMBER | Board | 40 | $2,411,333 |
| William H Gates III | TRUSTEE | Board | 25 | None reported |
| Melinda French Gates End 1012024 | TRUSTEE | Board | 8 | None reported |
| Ashish Dhawan | BOARD MEMBER | Board | 2 | None reported |
| Helene D Gayle | BOARD MEMBER | Board | 2 | None reported |
| Strive Masiyiwa | BOARD MEMBER | Board | 2 | None reported |
| Minouche Shafik | BOARD MEMBER | Board | 2 | None reported |
| Tom Tierney | BOARD MEMBER | Board | 2 | None reported |
| Nick Austin | LLC DIRECTOR | Board | 1 | None reported |
Top 10 paid people listed
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | From this org | From related orgs | Other pay | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mark Suzman | CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER, BOARD MEMBER | Board | 40 | $1,833,079 | $0 | $578,254 | $2,411,333 |
| Trevor Mundel | PRESIDENT, GLOBAL HEALTH | Officer | 40 | $1,329,113 | $0 | $137,335 | $1,466,448 |
| Christopher Elias | PRESIDENT, GLOBAL DEVELOPMENT | Officer | 40 | $1,060,838 | $0 | $166,344 | $1,227,182 |
| Rodger Voorhies | PRESIDENT, GLOBAL GROWTH & OPPORTUNITY | Officer | 40 | $1,001,717 | $0 | $141,220 | $1,142,937 |
| Carolyn Ainslie | CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | Officer | 40 | $947,100 | $0 | $162,232 | $1,109,332 |
| Allan C Golston | PRESIDENT, US PROGRAM | Officer | 40 | $966,921 | $0 | $132,602 | $1,099,523 |
| Gargee Ghosh | PRESIDENT, GLOBAL POLICY & ADVOCACY | Officer | 40 | $933,960 | $0 | $132,361 | $1,066,321 |
| Anita Zaidi | PRESIDENT, GENDER EQUALITY | Officer | 40 | $921,360 | $0 | $137,725 | $1,059,085 |
| Ankur Vora | CHIEF STRATEGY OFFICER | Officer | 40 | $726,624 | $0 | $130,621 | $857,245 |
| Lauren W Bright | CHIEF LEGAL OFFICER & SECRETARY | Officer | 40 | $669,775 | $0 | $111,843 | $781,618 |
Sources
- IRS e-file return 202523189349103667 (Form 990-PF, period ending 2024-12-31): readable copy at ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
- IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search for EIN 56-2618866
- Organization website (as filed): www.gatesfoundation.org