The Duke Endowment
Charlotte, NC · EIN 56-0529965 · Rank 1,759 by total revenue
Money, Form 990-PF for tax year 2024
- Total revenue
- $370,592,635
- Total expenses
- $301,842,921
- Total assets
- $3,567,263,777
- Salary base (all salaries and wages)
- not reported
- Salaries, other pay and benefits
- $4,251,112
- Employees
- not reported
"Salary base" is Form 990 Part IX lines 5 to 7. "Employees" is everyone who got a W-2 that year, full or part time. Form 990-EZ and 990-PF report pay differently; see About the data.
Leadership (20)
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | Total pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rhett N Mabry | PRESIDENT | Officer | 40 | $1,132,379 |
| Karen H Rogers | CFO, TREASURER AND SEC. | Officer | 40 | $518,305 |
| Susan L McConnell | VP & DIR. OF HUMAN RESOURCES | Officer | 40 | $494,852 |
| Charles C Lucas III | TRUSTEE/CHAIR | Board, Officer | 10 | $196,773 |
| Jean G Spaulding | TRUSTEE/VICE-CHAIR | Board, Officer | 5.5 | $196,773 |
| Dennis M Campbell | TRUSTEE/VICE-CHAIR | Board, Officer | 5.5 | $196,772 |
| William F Bacon | VP & DIRECTOR OF EVALUATION | Board | 40 | $497,497 |
| Clarence G Newsome | TRUSTEE | Board | 5.5 | $196,773 |
| Minor M Shaw | TRUSTEE | Board | 5.5 | $196,773 |
| Judy Woodruff | TRUSTEE | Board | 5.5 | $196,773 |
| William Barnet III | TRUSTEE | Board | 5.5 | $196,772 |
| John Fav Cecil | TRUSTEE | Board | 5.5 | $196,772 |
| Ravenel B Curry III | TRUSTEE | Board | 5.5 | $196,772 |
| Pamela Davies | TRUSTEE | Board | 5.5 | $196,772 |
| Harris E Deloach Jr | TRUSTEE | Board | 5.5 | $196,772 |
| Allyson K Duncan | TRUSTEE | Board | 5.5 | $196,772 |
| Constance F Gray | TRUSTEE (RETIRED ON 12/31/2024) | Board | 5.5 | $196,772 |
| J Trent Jones | TRUSTEE | Board | 5.5 | $196,772 |
| Kenneth D Weeks Jr | TRUSTEE (RETIRED ON 5/31/2024) | Board | 5.5 | $85,328 |
| Cammie R Hauptfuhrer | TRUSTEE (ELECTED ON 10/08/2024) | Board | 5.5 | $47,762 |
Top 10 paid people listed
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | From this org | From related orgs | Other pay | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rhett N Mabry | PRESIDENT | Officer | 40 | $731,243 | $0 | $401,136 | $1,132,379 |
| Karen H Rogers | CFO, TREASURER AND SEC. | Officer | 40 | $417,566 | $0 | $100,739 | $518,305 |
| William F Bacon | VP & DIRECTOR OF EVALUATION | Board | 40 | $408,782 | $0 | $88,715 | $497,497 |
| Susan L McConnell | VP & DIR. OF HUMAN RESOURCES | Officer | 40 | $414,010 | $0 | $80,842 | $494,852 |
| Charles C Lucas III | TRUSTEE/CHAIR | Board, Officer | 10 | $191,048 | $0 | $5,725 | $196,773 |
| Clarence G Newsome | TRUSTEE | Board | 5.5 | $191,048 | $0 | $5,725 | $196,773 |
| Minor M Shaw | TRUSTEE | Board | 5.5 | $191,048 | $0 | $5,725 | $196,773 |
| Jean G Spaulding | TRUSTEE/VICE-CHAIR | Board, Officer | 5.5 | $191,048 | $0 | $5,725 | $196,773 |
| Judy Woodruff | TRUSTEE | Board | 5.5 | $191,048 | $0 | $5,725 | $196,773 |
| William Barnet III | TRUSTEE | Board | 5.5 | $191,048 | $0 | $5,724 | $196,772 |
Sources
- IRS e-file return 202543219349101479 (Form 990-PF, period ending 2024-12-31): readable copy at ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
- IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search for EIN 56-0529965
- Organization website (as filed): www.dukeendowment.org