Associated Jewish Charities of Baltimore
Baltimore, MD · EIN 52-6024192 · Philanthropy and grantmaking · Rank 12,357 by total revenue
Holding title to & investing the assets of the associated: jewish community federation of baltimore.
Money, Form 990 for tax year 2024
- Total revenue
- $37,709,886
- Total expenses
- $60,279,946
- Total assets
- $446,679,873
- Salary base (all salaries and wages)
- not reported
- Salaries, other pay and benefits
- $0
- Employees
- not reported
"Salary base" is Form 990 Part IX lines 5 to 7. "Employees" is everyone who got a W-2 that year, full or part time. Form 990-EZ and 990-PF report pay differently; see About the data.
Leadership (36)
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | Total pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Andrew Cushnir | SECRETARY & EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | Board, Officer | 4 | $429,833 |
| Mark Smolarz | COO/CFO (UNTIL 3/25) | Officer | 8 | $309,439 |
| Ira Malis | PRESIDENT | Board, Officer | 5.5 | None reported |
| Pj Pearlstone | FIRST VICE PRESIDENT | Board, Officer | 2 | None reported |
| Rebecca Brenner | VICE PRESIDENT | Board, Officer | 1.5 | None reported |
| Maxwell Thanhouser | TREASURER & CO-CHAIR, INVESTMENT OVERSIGHT | Board, Officer | 1.5 | None reported |
| Samuel Klein | CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER (FROM 2/25) | Officer | 10 | None reported |
| Bruce Hoffberger | LIFE DIRECTOR AND CHAIR, THE ASSOCIATED | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| Jeffrey Rosen | CHAIR, AUDIT | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| Elise Morris | CHAIR, ADMINISTRATION | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| Jason Blavatt | VICE CHAIR, ADMINISTRATION | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| Kim Z Golden | VICE CHAIR, INVESTMENT OVERSIGHT | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| Robert Manekin | CO-CHAIR, REAL ESTATE | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| Mark Renbaum | CO-CHAIR, REAL ESTATE | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| Ari C Abramson | DIRECTOR AT LARGE | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| Marilyn Carp | DIRECTOR AT LARGE | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| Michael Fader | DIRECTOR AT LARGE | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| Elizabeth Green | DIRECTOR AT LARGE | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| Suzan B Katzenberg | DIRECTOR AT LARGE | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| Jonathan M Laria | DIRECTOR AT LARGE | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| Sandra Moffet | DIRECTOR AT LARGE | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| Robert Pollokoff | DIRECTOR AT LARGE | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| Lynn B Sassin | DIRECTOR AT LARGE | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| Karen Singer | DIRECTOR AT LARGE | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| Robert B Bank | LIFE DIRECTOR | Board | 0.1 | None reported |
| Josh Fidler | LIFE DIRECTOR | Board | 4 | None reported |
| Jill S Gansler | LIFE DIRECTOR | Board | 0.1 | None reported |
| Nancy Hackerman | LIFE DIRECTOR | Board | 0.1 | None reported |
| Fritzi Hallock | LIFE DIRECTOR | Board | 0.1 | None reported |
| Lawrence M Macks | LIFE DIRECTOR | Board | 0.1 | None reported |
| Philip Sachs | LIFE DIRECTOR | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| J Mark Schapiro | LIFE DIRECTOR | Board | 0.1 | None reported |
| Jeffrey Scherr | LIFE DIRECTOR | Board | 0.1 | None reported |
| Laura Black | DIRECTOR AT LARGE (UNTIL 6/25) | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| Yehunda Neuberger | DIRECTOR AT LARGE (UNTIL 6/25) | Board | 1.5 | None reported |
| Frederica K Saxon | LIFE DIRECTOR (UNTIL 3/25) | Board | 0.1 | None reported |
Top 10 paid people listed
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | From this org | From related orgs | Other pay | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Marc Terrill | FORMER SECRETARY & EXECUTIVE DIR. | Former | 0 | $0 | $1,140,338 | $30,197 | $1,170,535 |
| Andrew Cushnir | SECRETARY & EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | Board, Officer | 4 | $0 | $403,378 | $26,455 | $429,833 |
| Mark Smolarz | COO/CFO (UNTIL 3/25) | Officer | 8 | $0 | $273,170 | $36,269 | $309,439 |
| Michael Friedman | SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT | Highly paid employee | 30 | $0 | $253,496 | $12,125 | $265,621 |
| Michael Dye | VICE PRESIDENT, INVESTMENTS | Highly paid employee | 31 | $0 | $211,088 | $39,816 | $250,904 |
| Carole Taylor | SVP OF TECHNOLOGY AND OPERATIONS | Highly paid employee | 8 | $0 | $189,643 | $24,722 | $214,365 |
| Connie Stern | VICE PRESIDENT, FINANCE | Highly paid employee | 4 | $0 | $172,385 | $32,671 | $205,056 |
| Brooke Hisle | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF KRIEGER FUND | Highly paid employee | 0 | $0 | $172,799 | $17,907 | $190,706 |
Sources
- IRS e-file return 202601359349314450 (Form 990, period ending 2025-06-30): readable copy at ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
- IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search for EIN 52-6024192
- Organization website (as filed): www.associated.org