Wayne State University Foundation
Detroit, MI · EIN 38-3555142 · Education · Rank 15,926 by total revenue
Wayne state university foundation was established to be a centralized means of encouraging and managing financial support to wayne (continued on schedule o)
Money, Form 990 for tax year 2024
- Total revenue
- $27,859,948
- Total expenses
- $26,688,438
- Total assets
- $657,703,718
- Salary base (all salaries and wages)
- not reported
- Salaries, other pay and benefits
- $0
- Employees
- not reported
"Salary base" is Form 990 Part IX lines 5 to 7. "Employees" is everyone who got a W-2 that year, full or part time. Form 990-EZ and 990-PF report pay differently; see About the data.
Leadership (20)
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | Total pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kimberly Andrews Espy | DIRECTOR/UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT (PART YEAR) | Board, Officer | 2 | $950,228 |
| Richard A Bierschbach | INTERIM PRESIDENT/JOHN W. REED PROFESSOR OF LAW | Board, Officer | 2 | $548,649 |
| David Ripple | DIRECTOR/FOUNDATION PRESIDENT | Board, Officer | 15 | $460,925 |
| Bethany Gielczyk | SR VP, CFO & TREASURER | Officer | 1 | $393,258 |
| Alana Askew | ASSISTANT VP TREASURY | Officer | 5 | $233,189 |
| Neco T Walker | SECRETARY | Officer | 15 | $127,126 |
| James A Anderson | CHAIR | Board, Officer | 1 | None reported |
| Linda Beale | DIRECTOR/WSU LAW PROFESSOR & PRESIDENT OF ACADEMIC SENATE | Board | 1 | $219,677 |
| Angelo Vitale | DIRECTOR | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Denise J Lewis | DIRECTOR | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Elizabeth Goldsberry | DIRECTOR | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Kolleen T Kennedy | DIRECTOR | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Marilyn Kelly | DIRECTOR (PART YEAR) | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Pamela Applebaum | DIRECTOR | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Quincy Allen | DIRECTOR | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Regina Baker | DIRECTOR/ALUMNI ASSOCIATION PRESIDENT | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Sean Werdlow | DIRECTOR | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Susan Telang | DIRECTOR | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Terri Lynn Land | DIRECTOR | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Tosha Padgett Brown | DIRECTOR/ALUMNI ASSOCIATION PRESIDENT (PART YEAR) | Board | 1 | None reported |
Top 10 paid people listed
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | From this org | From related orgs | Other pay | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kimberly Andrews Espy | DIRECTOR/UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT (PART YEAR) | Board, Officer | 2 | $0 | $704,382 | $245,846 | $950,228 |
| M Roy Wilson MD Ms | PROF. OF OPHTHALMOLOGY (FORMER UNI. PRES) | Former | 0 | $0 | $671,717 | $70,491 | $742,208 |
| Richard A Bierschbach | INTERIM PRESIDENT/JOHN W. REED PROFESSOR OF LAW | Board, Officer | 2 | $0 | $483,731 | $64,918 | $548,649 |
| David Ripple | DIRECTOR/FOUNDATION PRESIDENT | Board, Officer | 15 | $0 | $396,127 | $64,798 | $460,925 |
| Bethany Gielczyk | SR VP, CFO & TREASURER | Officer | 1 | $0 | $342,098 | $51,160 | $393,258 |
| Alana Askew | ASSISTANT VP TREASURY | Officer | 5 | $0 | $202,081 | $31,108 | $233,189 |
| Linda Beale | DIRECTOR/WSU LAW PROFESSOR & PRESIDENT OF ACADEMIC SENATE | Board | 1 | $0 | $193,498 | $26,179 | $219,677 |
| Neco T Walker | SECRETARY | Officer | 15 | $0 | $99,047 | $28,079 | $127,126 |
Sources
- IRS e-file return 202632169349301858 (Form 990, period ending 2025-09-30): readable copy at ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
- IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search for EIN 38-3555142
- Organization website (as filed): https://pivotalmoments.wayne.edu/about/foundation