Burroughs Wellcome Fund
Durham, NC · EIN 23-7225395 · Philanthropy and grantmaking · Rank 7,661 by total revenue
Money, Form 990-PF for tax year 2024
- Total revenue
- $66,245,932
- Total expenses
- $44,855,222
- Total assets
- $885,672,359
- Salary base (all salaries and wages)
- not reported
- Salaries, other pay and benefits
- $1,109,058
- Employees
- not reported
"Salary base" is Form 990 Part IX lines 5 to 7. "Employees" is everyone who got a W-2 that year, full or part time. Form 990-EZ and 990-PF report pay differently; see About the data.
Leadership (15)
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | Total pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ken Browndorf | Vice President, Finance & CFO | Officer | 38 | $329,725 |
| Dr Brenda Andrews | BOARD CHAIR | Board, Officer | 1 | $15,000 |
| Mr Michael Giarla | BOARD MEMBER, INVESTMENT CHAIR | Board, Officer | 1 | $12,000 |
| Dr Jenny Ting | BOARD MEMBER, CHAIR-THRU 10/24 | Board, Officer | 1 | None reported |
| Louis Muglia | PRESIDENT - DIRECTOR | Board | 38 | $586,586 |
| Dr Christine Seidman | BOARD MEMBER/INVEST COMMITTEE | Board | 1 | $11,500 |
| Dr Brian Druker | BOARD MEMBER | Board | 1 | $10,000 |
| Ms Deborah Blum | BOARD MEMBER | Board | 1 | $10,000 |
| Dr Harmit Malik | BOARD MEMBER | Board | 1 | $10,000 |
| Dr Kafui Dzirasa | BOARD MEMBER | Board | 1 | $10,000 |
| Dr Wendell Lim | BOARD MEMBER | Board | 1 | $10,000 |
| Dr Cynthia K Larive | BOARD MEMBER-AS OF 10/31/24 | Board | 1 | $10,000 |
| Dr Blossom Damania | BOARD MEMBER-AS OF 10/31/24 | Board | 1 | $10,000 |
| Dr Robert Lefkowitz | BOARD MEMBER-THRU 02/2025 | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Dr Paula Hammond | BOARD MEMBER-THRU 10/31/24 | Board | 1 | None reported |
Top 10 paid people listed
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | From this org | From related orgs | Other pay | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Louis Muglia | PRESIDENT - DIRECTOR | Board | 38 | $519,340 | $0 | $67,246 | $586,586 |
| Ken Browndorf | Vice President, Finance & CFO | Officer | 38 | $275,000 | $0 | $54,725 | $329,725 |
| Dr Brenda Andrews | BOARD CHAIR | Board, Officer | 1 | $15,000 | $0 | $0 | $15,000 |
| Mr Michael Giarla | BOARD MEMBER, INVESTMENT CHAIR | Board, Officer | 1 | $12,000 | $0 | $0 | $12,000 |
| Dr Christine Seidman | BOARD MEMBER/INVEST COMMITTEE | Board | 1 | $11,500 | $0 | $0 | $11,500 |
| Dr Brian Druker | BOARD MEMBER | Board | 1 | $10,000 | $0 | $0 | $10,000 |
| Ms Deborah Blum | BOARD MEMBER | Board | 1 | $10,000 | $0 | $0 | $10,000 |
| Dr Harmit Malik | BOARD MEMBER | Board | 1 | $10,000 | $0 | $0 | $10,000 |
| Dr Kafui Dzirasa | BOARD MEMBER | Board | 1 | $10,000 | $0 | $0 | $10,000 |
| Dr Wendell Lim | BOARD MEMBER | Board | 1 | $10,000 | $0 | $0 | $10,000 |
Sources
- IRS e-file return 202621979349100912 (Form 990-PF, period ending 2025-08-31): readable copy at ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
- IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search for EIN 23-7225395
- Organization website (as filed): www.bwfund.org