John D and Catherine T Macarthur Foundation
Chicago, IL · EIN 23-7093598 · Philanthropy and grantmaking · Rank 765 by total revenue
Money, Form 990-PF for tax year 2024
- Total revenue
- $890,851,721
- Total expenses
- $414,659,854
- Total assets
- $9,311,570,852
- Salary base (all salaries and wages)
- not reported
- Salaries, other pay and benefits
- $14,331,110
- Employees
- not reported
"Salary base" is Form 990 Part IX lines 5 to 7. "Employees" is everyone who got a W-2 that year, full or part time. Form 990-EZ and 990-PF report pay differently; see About the data.
Leadership (20)
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | Total pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Susan E Manske | VP / CHIEF INVESTMENT OFFICER | Officer | 50 | $3,764,295 |
| Joshua J Mintz | VP / GENERAL COUNSEL / SECRETARY | Officer | 50 | $836,188 |
| Kenneth M Jones II | SENIOR VP / CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER | Officer | 50 | $810,415 |
| Martha L Minow | BOARD CHAIR | Board, Officer | 7 | $44,875 |
| John G Palfrey | DIRECTOR / PRESIDENT | Board | 50 | $1,214,877 |
| Juan Salgado | BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 4.5 | $28,000 |
| Paul Klingenstein | BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 4.5 | $27,500 |
| Lillian Constance Jen | BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 4.5 | $27,000 |
| Cecilia Munoz | BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 4.5 | $27,000 |
| Sendhil Mullainathan | BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 4.5 | $26,500 |
| Stephanie K Bell-Rose | BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 4.5 | $26,000 |
| Olufunmilayo I Olopade | BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 4.5 | $26,000 |
| Dr Ruth J Simmons | BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 4.5 | $25,500 |
| Amy Falls As Of 0624 | BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 4.5 | $14,000 |
| Julie T Katzman Thru 0624 | BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 4.5 | $14,000 |
| William F Lee As Of 0624 | BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 4.5 | $14,000 |
| James Manyika Thru 0324 | BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 4.5 | $10,000 |
| James Casselberry | ARC BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 1 | $10,000 |
| Trinita Logue | ARC BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 1 | $10,000 |
| Alondra Nelson As Of 0624 | BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 4.5 | $9,000 |
Top 10 paid people listed
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | From this org | From related orgs | Other pay | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Susan E Manske | VP / CHIEF INVESTMENT OFFICER | Officer | 50 | $2,512,127 | $0 | $1,252,168 | $3,764,295 |
| John G Palfrey | DIRECTOR / PRESIDENT | Board | 50 | $1,113,955 | $0 | $100,922 | $1,214,877 |
| Joshua J Mintz | VP / GENERAL COUNSEL / SECRETARY | Officer | 50 | $715,572 | $0 | $120,616 | $836,188 |
| Kenneth M Jones II | SENIOR VP / CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER | Officer | 50 | $697,637 | $0 | $112,778 | $810,415 |
| Martha L Minow | BOARD CHAIR | Board, Officer | 7 | $44,875 | $0 | $0 | $44,875 |
| Juan Salgado | BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 4.5 | $28,000 | $0 | $0 | $28,000 |
| Paul Klingenstein | BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 4.5 | $27,500 | $0 | $0 | $27,500 |
| Lillian Constance Jen | BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 4.5 | $27,000 | $0 | $0 | $27,000 |
| Cecilia Munoz | BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 4.5 | $27,000 | $0 | $0 | $27,000 |
| Sendhil Mullainathan | BOARD TRUSTEE | Board | 4.5 | $26,500 | $0 | $0 | $26,500 |
Sources
- IRS e-file return 202503169349102460 (Form 990-PF, period ending 2024-12-31): readable copy at ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
- IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search for EIN 23-7093598
- Organization website (as filed): www.macfound.org