The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Princeton, NJ · EIN 22-6029397 · Philanthropy and grantmaking · Rank 799 by total revenue
Money, Form 990-PF for tax year 2024
- Total revenue
- $855,259,092
- Total expenses
- $966,690,739
- Total assets
- $13,417,636,452
- Salary base (all salaries and wages)
- not reported
- Salaries, other pay and benefits
- $39,032,998
- Employees
- not reported
"Salary base" is Form 990 Part IX lines 5 to 7. "Employees" is everyone who got a W-2 that year, full or part time. Form 990-EZ and 990-PF report pay differently; see About the data.
Leadership (20)
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | Total pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Richard E Besser | PRESIDENT & CEO | Officer | 40 | $1,149,473 |
| Melvin Galloway | COO | Officer | 40 | $742,199 |
| Ricardo Castro | VP, GENERAL COUNSEL, SECRETARY | Officer | 40 | $654,836 |
| William Roell | VP, CFO & TREASURER | Officer | 40 | $628,313 |
| Kathryn S Fuller | TRUSTEE CHAIR | Board, Officer | 5 | $65,000 |
| Azita Emami | TRUSTEE | Board | 3.5 | $35,500 |
| Starsky D Wilson | TRUSTEE | Board | 3.5 | $33,500 |
| Vicki L Fuller | TRUSTEE | Board | 3.5 | $33,000 |
| Michael E Sneed | TRUSTEE | Board | 3.5 | $32,250 |
| Jing Wang | TRUSTEE | Board | 3.5 | $29,500 |
| Edgar Villanueva | TRUSTEE | Board | 3.5 | $29,000 |
| Julio Frenk | TRUSTEE | Board | 3.5 | $26,000 |
| W Louise Mehrotra | TRUSTEE | Board | 3.5 | $17,250 |
| David Williams | TRUSTEE | Board | 3.5 | $16,750 |
| Ruth S Shim | TRUSTEE | Board | 3.5 | $15,250 |
| Leah McCall Devlin | TRUSTEE | Board | 3.5 | $10,500 |
| Ryan P Haygood | TRUSTEE EFFECTIVE OCT 2024 | Board | 3.5 | $8,000 |
| Patricia A Gabow | TRUSTEE EMERITA EFFECTIVE JAN 2024 | Board | 3.5 | $1,000 |
| Phyllis Wise | TRUSTEE EMERITA EFFECTIVE JAN 2024 | Board | 3.5 | $1,000 |
| Robert B Litterman | TRUSTEE EMERITUS EFFECTIVE JAN 2024 | Board | 3.5 | $1,000 |
Top 10 paid people listed
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | From this org | From related orgs | Other pay | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| May Ng | CIO | 40 | $2,139,599 | $0 | $84,726 | $2,224,325 | |
| Richard E Besser | PRESIDENT & CEO | Officer | 40 | $1,031,724 | $0 | $117,749 | $1,149,473 |
| Melvin Galloway | COO | Officer | 40 | $660,647 | $0 | $81,552 | $742,199 |
| Ricardo Castro | VP, GENERAL COUNSEL, SECRETARY | Officer | 40 | $545,268 | $0 | $109,568 | $654,836 |
| William Roell | VP, CFO & TREASURER | Officer | 40 | $501,173 | $0 | $127,140 | $628,313 |
| Julie Morita | EVP UNTIL AUG 2024 | 40 | $474,437 | $0 | $135,158 | $609,595 | |
| Kathryn S Fuller | TRUSTEE CHAIR | Board, Officer | 5 | $65,000 | $0 | $0 | $65,000 |
| Azita Emami | TRUSTEE | Board | 3.5 | $35,500 | $0 | $0 | $35,500 |
| Starsky D Wilson | TRUSTEE | Board | 3.5 | $33,500 | $0 | $0 | $33,500 |
| Vicki L Fuller | TRUSTEE | Board | 3.5 | $33,000 | $0 | $0 | $33,000 |
Sources
- IRS e-file return 202503109349101385 (Form 990-PF, period ending 2024-12-31): readable copy at ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
- IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search for EIN 22-6029397
- Organization website (as filed): www.rwjf.org