Open Society Institute
New York, NY · EIN 13-7029285 · Philanthropy and grantmaking · Rank 1,665 by total revenue
Money, Form 990-PF for tax year 2024
- Total revenue
- $396,477,106
- Total expenses
- $295,896,735
- Total assets
- $5,403,306,305
- Salary base (all salaries and wages)
- not reported
- Salaries, other pay and benefits
- $14,641,890
- Employees
- not reported
"Salary base" is Form 990 Part IX lines 5 to 7. "Employees" is everyone who got a W-2 that year, full or part time. Form 990-EZ and 990-PF report pay differently; see About the data.
Leadership (13)
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | Total pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Binaifer Nowrojee | PRESIDENT (AS OF 4/1/2024) | Officer | 40 | $1,058,975 |
| Leonard Benardo | SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT | Officer | 40 | $954,395 |
| Samantha Stokes-Baydur | CHIEF PEOPLE AND CULTURE OFFICER | Officer | 40 | $830,744 |
| Debbie Fine | GEN COUNSEL, SECRETARY (AS OF 1/17/24) | Officer | 40 | $601,864 |
| Maija Arbolino | TREASURER/CFO | Officer | 40 | $575,896 |
| Catherine Livingston | GEN COUNSEL, SECRETARY (THRU 1/17/24) | Officer | 40 | $63,524 |
| Smita Singh | CHIEF STRATEGY OFFICER (FORMER) | Officer | 0 | $24,992 |
| Pedro Abramovay | VICE PRESIDENT, PROGRAMS | Officer | 5 | None reported |
| Sandra Breka | VP AND COO | Officer | 5 | None reported |
| Laura Silber | TRUSTEE (AS OF 12/19/2024) | Board | 40 | $757,140 |
| Mark Malloch-Brown | TRUSTEE & PRESIDENT (THRU 3/31/2024) | Board | 10 | $322,519 |
| Greg Taylor | GLOBAL DIRECTOR OF OPS (FORMER) | Board | 0 | $2,904 |
| Alexander Soros | TRUSTEE | Board | 5 | None reported |
Top 10 paid people listed
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | From this org | From related orgs | Other pay | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Binaifer Nowrojee | PRESIDENT (AS OF 4/1/2024) | Officer | 40 | $881,219 | $0 | $177,756 | $1,058,975 |
| Leonard Benardo | SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT | Officer | 40 | $773,706 | $0 | $180,689 | $954,395 |
| Samantha Stokes-Baydur | CHIEF PEOPLE AND CULTURE OFFICER | Officer | 40 | $705,100 | $0 | $125,644 | $830,744 |
| Laura Silber | TRUSTEE (AS OF 12/19/2024) | Board | 40 | $602,522 | $0 | $154,618 | $757,140 |
| Debbie Fine | GEN COUNSEL, SECRETARY (AS OF 1/17/24) | Officer | 40 | $530,457 | $0 | $71,407 | $601,864 |
| Maija Arbolino | TREASURER/CFO | Officer | 40 | $445,562 | $0 | $130,334 | $575,896 |
| Nicole Wilett | CHIEF OF STAFF (THRU 1/31/2024) | 40 | $389,484 | $0 | $4,835 | $394,319 | |
| Mark Malloch-Brown | TRUSTEE & PRESIDENT (THRU 3/31/2024) | Board | 10 | $322,519 | $0 | $0 | $322,519 |
| Catherine Livingston | GEN COUNSEL, SECRETARY (THRU 1/17/24) | Officer | 40 | $53,916 | $0 | $9,608 | $63,524 |
| Smita Singh | CHIEF STRATEGY OFFICER (FORMER) | Officer | 0 | $24,992 | $0 | $0 | $24,992 |
Sources
- IRS e-file return 202543199349101234 (Form 990-PF, period ending 2024-12-31): readable copy at ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
- IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search for EIN 13-7029285
- Organization website (as filed): www.opensocietyfoundations.org