The Simons Foundation Inc
New York, NY · EIN 13-3794889 · Philanthropy and grantmaking · Rank 3,406 by total revenue
Money, Form 990-PF for tax year 2024
- Total revenue
- $171,400,960
- Total expenses
- $364,993,487
- Total assets
- $4,482,291,699
- Salary base (all salaries and wages)
- not reported
- Salaries, other pay and benefits
- $27,079,282
- Employees
- not reported
"Salary base" is Form 990 Part IX lines 5 to 7. "Employees" is everyone who got a W-2 that year, full or part time. Form 990-EZ and 990-PF report pay differently; see About the data.
Leadership (15)
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | Total pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| David Spergel | PRESIDENT | Officer | 40 | $990,141 |
| Euan Robertson | COO | Officer | 40 | $710,687 |
| Marlow Kee | CFO/TREASURER | Officer | 40 | $576,757 |
| Shirley M Tilghman | TRUSTEE/VICE CHAIR | Board, Officer | 1 | $18,000 |
| Marilyn Simons | CO-CHAIR OF THE BOARD | Board, Officer | 16 | None reported |
| James Simons | CO-CHAIR (THRU 5/2024) | Board, Officer | 16 | None reported |
| Cornelia Bargmann | TRUSTEE | Board | 1 | $34,000 |
| William H Press | TRUSTEE | Board | 1 | $32,000 |
| Peter Littlewood | TRUSTEE | Board | 1 | $31,400 |
| David Eisenbud | TRUSTEE | Board | 1 | $30,750 |
| Ingrid Daubechies | TRUSTEE | Board | 1 | $30,000 |
| Emery N Brown | TRUSTEE | Board | 1 | $20,000 |
| Andrew Golden | TRUSTEE (AS OF 6/2024) | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Jill Pipher | TRUSTEE (AS OF 10/2024) | Board | 1 | None reported |
| Bill Ford | TRUSTEE (AS OF 6/2024) | Board | 1 | None reported |
Top 10 paid people listed
| Name | Title | Role | Hours/week | From this org | From related orgs | Other pay | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| David Spergel | PRESIDENT | Officer | 40 | $928,564 | $0 | $61,577 | $990,141 |
| Euan Robertson | COO | Officer | 40 | $629,645 | $0 | $81,042 | $710,687 |
| Marlow Kee | CFO/TREASURER | Officer | 40 | $510,428 | $0 | $66,329 | $576,757 |
| Brett Dakin | GEN. COUNSEL/SEC./CHIEF COMPL. OFF. | 40 | $455,750 | $0 | $66,329 | $522,079 | |
| Cornelia Bargmann | TRUSTEE | Board | 1 | $19,000 | $0 | $15,000 | $34,000 |
| William H Press | TRUSTEE | Board | 1 | $17,000 | $0 | $15,000 | $32,000 |
| Peter Littlewood | TRUSTEE | Board | 1 | $20,000 | $0 | $11,400 | $31,400 |
| David Eisenbud | TRUSTEE | Board | 1 | $18,000 | $0 | $12,750 | $30,750 |
| Ingrid Daubechies | TRUSTEE | Board | 1 | $15,000 | $0 | $15,000 | $30,000 |
| Emery N Brown | TRUSTEE | Board | 1 | $20,000 | $0 | $0 | $20,000 |
Sources
- IRS e-file return 202503179349103885 (Form 990-PF, period ending 2024-12-31): readable copy at ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
- IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search for EIN 13-3794889
- Organization website (as filed): www.simonsfoundation.org